8 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:55 AM by StephenB _ RSS

columns

StephenB _

I am new to Monarch, have version 7.  Is there  a special process that one should go through to ensure certain trapped data gets prosessed into the table as columns instead of rows I could sure benefit from any tip you would have.  I have read through the Monarch V7 Learning Guide and am still missing a concept and rationale; the more appends I make the more columns are produced. Thank you,  Stephen Butter

• columns
          Grant Perkins

Stephen,

The simply way to think of this is that all of the FIELDS you map in your template will become COLUMNS.

Your DETAIL TEMPLATE will appear as a ROW in the TABLE with a COLUMN for each FIELD defined.

Any fields defined in APPEND, HEADER or FOOTER templates will be add to the row for the DETAIL record to which they are appended and will have their own columns in the table.

The other aspect of COLUMNS in V7 is of course 'MULTI COLUMN REGIONS'(MCR) which is to do with the INPUT columns not the output columns.

MCR can be thought of as a way of processing some narrow pages which have been placed side by side. Each page may have a sequence of one or more DETAIL records and possibly some appends in there as well.

I get the impression that you may be struggling to work out exactly what should be in your DETAIL section. If you can post a sample of the report (or something that looks a bit like it) to the forum it may make it easier to help.

You should be able to create a new post then click on the "CODE" button in the "Instant UBB Code" section of the input screen and PASTE your sample in between the two markers that will have appeared.

I hope this helps in some way. If not perhaps it raises some more questions? In which case just post them and let's see what we can do.

Grant

Originally posted by StephenB: