4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:55 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

HTML parsing with V7

Ozgur Sanli

Hi ;

I am new to Monarch software. I am trying to figure out extracting HTML segments with floating traps. The main problem is how to specify the "end" of an HTML chunk from multiple lines such as

<P> This is a sample paragraph that needs to be extracted which occupies several lines <a href="sample url">sample url text</a>. Another line for the paragraph.

I want to extract the segments which start with <p> tag and end when a <a href> tag is seen. I can specify the beginning but could not succeed on the end condition. Thanks for any help..

• HTML parsing with V7
          Grant Perkins

Hi,

Firstly, which version of Monarch 7 are you using? (Standard or Pro)

Secondly are you reading a .htm(l) file into Monarch or is it an html file that is not recognised as html?

I ask that because Monarch 7 Pro HTML analysis functionality will normally re-interpret the html code and display only the content directly, line by line, with some reference lines interspersed. Your description seems to suggest that you are analysing 'raw' html code.

The interpeted html would typically produce a block of text for a paragraph that ignores the href reference and includes the rest of the paragraph text automatically. Sounds like you don't want it to do that. If so is there a reason or some other way of identifying what you wish to exclude?

Sorry for the qustions but I will feel more comfortable suggesting things if I feel I have a better understanding of what you are doing and what you require.    smile.gif[/img]  

Grant

Originally posted by Ozgur Sanli:

Hi ;

I am new to Monarch software. I am trying to figure out extracting HTML segments with floating traps. The main problem is how to specify the "end" of an HTML chunk from multiple lines such as