6 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:55 AM by Nick Osdale-Popa RSS

Model information

ron cousino

Any suggestions on a problem that I am sure others have encountered.  Monarch provides a nice information icon that allows you to view and print all project and model information when you have the model open.  However as time passes, and with lots of clients and models, I don't always print out the information.  I may not have the source database or report available but would like to be able to somehow read the model details. (and be able to copy those great calculated field solutions).  Is there a tool or way to read the model information without having to open a report or database that it was created with?  I also don't want to kill more trees that I have to.  I am a Monarch Pro version 8.01 user

• Model information
          Data Kruncher

Hi again Ron. Glad to read that your last post was resolved.

As to reading xmod files without the source report or database, it's not too difficult, but the results are a little hard to read. A better tool would be very nice. I might have to work on that...

Anyway, reading the file: open Windows Explorer and go to your xmod files. Copy the file "myfile.xmod" back to the same folder so that you get "Copy of myfile.xmod". Good. Now add a ".xml" extenstion to the filename. Double-click the xml file and your web browser (in my case, IE) will start up and open the file.

While it is somewhat formatted, it's not exactly  user-friendly. But, what you're after is there, including formulas.

An awkward solution is better than no solution at all. Anyone have a better way?

Kruncher

• Model information
            Data Kruncher

you can just right-click on any xmod model and select "Open with Internet Explorer" to view it  /quoteI knew there was a better way. Sometimes the obvious is too obvious. Thanks Todd.

• Model information
              Nigel Winton

Guys