5 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:54 AM by Tom Whiteside RSS

Hopefully Simple Question

J _

Hello all,

I am new to the software, and I am trying to use it for some data conversions.  I have a file right now with only two fields in it delimited by a pipe (|).  The first is an ID field, and the second is just a text field, but it sometimes wraps on multiple lines.  I want to string it out across one line for each record.  I do not care if the id column is included in the field or not, as I can parse them apart later.  I have each record separated by at least one blank line. 

Here's a sample of the data format:

7 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCCC

8 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCCC

DDDDD

9 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCC

DDDDDEEEEEFFFFFGGG

GGHHHHHIIIII

10 | AAAAA

11 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCC

DDDDDEEEEE

And here is the format I would like to get it in:

7 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCCC

8 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCCCDDDDD

9 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCCDDDDDEEEEEFFFFFGGGGGHHHHHIIIII

10 | AAAAA

11 | AAAAABBBBBCCCCCDDDDDEEEEE

Basically I just want to concatenate any additional lines in to the same field.  I have tried a couple different solutions and have not had any luck yet.  I am hoping there is a simple solution that I am missing.  Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks!

• Hopefully Simple Question
          Grant Perkins

Hi J,

First question is - is this an ascii text file (perhaps from a unix/linux system?) and do you know if it contains hard coded line feed characters?

If not it may simply be that the 'page format' for the report is wrapping the text in which case you might be able to simply save the report with a different format (a3 Landscape for example or anything rather wide setting - even user defined maybe?) and work around it that way.

On the other hand ...

If the line feeds are embedded in the file you could strip them out/change them to spaces or whatever might be useful using an editor or the MSRP utility.