6 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:54 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Detail information on more than one row for a given record.

heathy _

Hi,

I'm new to Monarch and have a question....

I have data in the following format

[font="courier"]1     OUTPULSE     0049403501;     

1     ECHO          2;     

1     NPI          UNKNOWN      UNKNOWN ;

1     END;          

2     OUTPULSE     00494035010;     

2     NPI          UNKNOWN      UNKNOWN ;

2     END;          

3     OUTPULSE     97200;     

3     ECHO          6;     

3     NPI          UNKNOWN      UNKNOWN ;

3     END;          

4     OUTPULSE     9720091;     

4     NPI          UNKNOWN      UNKNOWN ;

4     END;          /font[/quote]For the above sample I would want 4 separate records. 

As you can see the number of rows is not consistant for each record (limited to between 1-5 though).  The last row of a record will always contain "END;" in the 2nd field.

Each row can only have a maximum of 4 values including the number in the 1st column.

What I tried was creating a detail template that covered 5 rows and I defined fields to capture all of the 4 fields in each of the 5 rows.  The problem is that (for example) if one record has only 2 rows then since I'm capturing 5 rows I get some of the next record

I need to somehow terminate the record when I see "END;".

Any ideas?

Cheers Ian

• Detail information on more than one row for a given record.
          Grant Perkins

Hi Ian and welcome.

WOuld it be fair to assume that the records have a minimum of 3 rows?

Did you choose 5 rows for the template sample because some records may have 5 rows or is the max 4?

Is the second column (OUTPULSE, etc) data or a 'fixed' label describing the columns which follow. By 'fixed' I mean that there are a limited number of values and the text itself is not important except as an identifier of what the 2 subsequent columns are recording.