4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:53 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Excel Sheet Import

mcromer _

I am new to Monarch Pro v9, but not to Monarch.  I am trying to use the table import on an Excel, and am having trouble figuring out how to get the header info from the top to append to line level.  I have been going through the lessons, and am having no luck.  I know how to handle this from the Report Screen, but that does not work with Excel, and was the reason for upgrading to Pro.  Here is a small sample to illustrate.

Region : Midwest

Time : Last 13 Wks

Location    Sales $  Sales Qty

Store 1        1000        300

• Excel Sheet Import
          joey

Unless anyone has a better idea (which I would love to hear), I suggest recording a VBA macro in Excel to copy the cells to new columns and add them to all rows.  Then delete any header or footer rows so that it is one table.  This VBA code could be moved to A VBA module in Access that could be executed on the current month's spreadsheet.

With a minor amount of programing, this would be able to be included in a batch script that could call Monarch after cleaning up the spreadsheet a little. 

Probably not the solution you were looking for, but it is how I've handled similar cases.

• Excel Sheet Import
            Grant Perkins

Originally posted by mcromer:

I know how to handle this from the Report Screen, but that does not work with Excel, and was the reason for upgrading to Pro.  /b[/quote]Monarch Pro will read Excel directly as a database, which is what I assume you have found.

That means that every row is treated as a complete record, as it would be in a database. The odd thing about Excel is that it is not really a database or report, though sometimes the worksheets can look like either of those or neither of those.