7 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:53 AM by Scott Johnson RSS

Differences

Johnny _

I am new to Monarch completely, so please be patient with me.  Here is what I am needing to accomplish.  I have two excel spreadsheets they are both a listing of part numbers and quantities.  What I am needing is for monarch to combine the two lists and pull out whatever part numbers are not on both, as well as to show me only the parts with different quantities?  For example if part number 1 has a qty of 5 on excel spreadsheet a and excel spreadsheet b has the same part with a qty of 2 I need monarch to list this part with a qty of 3?  Any suggestions?  Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

John  :confused:

• Differences
          Grant Perkins

John,

Which version of Monarch do you have and is it Standard or Pro? ( I assume Pro as you are asking this question ...)

Grant

• Differences
            Johnny _

I have Monarch Pro 7.02

Thanks for your help in this matter.

• Differences
              Grant Perkins

John,

Nowhere can I find the solution I was thinking of. I'm sure I have seen the ideal process reported either in the forum or the e-newsletter but I have failed to find it so far.

So, here is something I will call a 'wheel' ... you can enhance it and maybe combine steps for convenience.

First you need to get a consolidated list of the Part Numbers from each Excel spread sheet. If the number of codes is not too big and the process does not require automation you can simply cut and paste the cells into a combined worksheet. Sorting that is optional. Of course you could also use Monarch to extract just the codes from each worksheet separately and then EXPORT the results to the same Export file using an APPEND method for the second part of those exports.

From a Monarch session load the new worksheet/file as a database. Create a summary by Part Number as the key field and using count as a measure.