6 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:53 AM by Shep _ RSS

Export ->Excel - Format \ Style question

Shep _

*I am new to Monarch.

Can I control the ExcelFormatStyle criteria generated by export to Excel?  If yes. . .I'm thinking (for my current effort) I'd like it to reflect font=Courier versus Tahoma.  Which, so far, Tahoma seems to always be in the background regardless of font displayed.

My goal:

for the Monarch field display     emplate width (column width) to be literal and set Excel column width upon export (based on Courier monospace font)

My doubt:

I was not sure if Monarch was actually setting the Excel sheet FormatStyle upon export.

As stated, I'm new to to this app so I hope I'm not   :confused:  and barking up the wrong tree

• Export ->Excel - Format \ Style question
          Data Kruncher

Hi Shep. Welcome to the forum.

There are a couple of things you can do to control the Excel formatting. First, be sure to use the most recent Excel export driver: go to Options, Export and Clipboard... and on the General tab, select the Excel 97+ (Monarch V9) list item for XLS Files. Turn on the Apply formatting to Excel files and Apply "Advanced Excel Features" checkboxes.

Now, in your table or summary windows, set the current font to Courier. You'll probably see the font list in the toolbar next to the calculator icon.

Finally, assuming you're in the table window, go to the Edit menu and Select All. Edit menu again, and Autosize column widths.

This will get you the look you want in Excel.

Kruncher

Shep _

Thanks for the info.

All that was already set.

But,I don't want to auto-fit.

If I set a templatedisplay width to 22 I was hoping it would export and set the Excel column to a literal 22.  Even if no cell in the column contains all 22 characters.