2 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:53 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Model Creation Tutorial

istuart _

I'm new to the Monarch world and am trying to learn the basics behind it.  I'm currently taking flat files and want to learn how to create tables of the data.  I think what I want to do is create models so that when I open a standard document it will go search for specific fields/lines within the document.  Is this exactly what the feature does?

Does anyone know of a site/place to go that had tutorials that I could run through to learn these basic functions of Monarch?  Also, how similar is Monarch Pro v 7.0 compared to v 5.0?  Would a 5.0 manual help me with these questions, or have the screens/drop down menus/functions changed with the newer version.

Thanks!

• Model Creation Tutorial
          Nigel Winton

Hi there, welcome to the wonderful world of Monarch. The basic principles of trapping data and creating model files is similar for most versions. I would suggest you look at the built in help menu as this has most of the things contained in the manual and will help you to create templates. Also this forum is excellent for honing your skills and other users are always willing to help if you get stuck

Regards

Nigel

• Model Creation Tutorial
            Grant Perkins

I completely agree with Nigel on this.

Sounds ike you have version 7 Pro but no training guide book? If you have the training guide for V5 the basics will be much the same. One of the benefits of Monarch development is a continuation of look and feel as well as enhancement of, rather than radical changes to, existing functionality.

Your V5 documentation should also cover the basic Pro functionality which adds on top of the standard product.

V7 adds a whole lot more but starting with the basics is much the same. However it would be worth trying to find the Training Guide for V7 (should have been supplied with the software) for activities after the first 2 or 3 exercises.