2 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:53 AM by fino _ RSS

Lookup with a table

fino _

I have > 200 reports feeding into one model - all reports have identical layout. One Header field contains 2 different field values either "B" or "U". These values describe currency type of the amount fields. I need to build a file output that has both types "B" and "U". I guess what I am asking is to do a lookup in a table on itself - dont think this is possible but I am new to Monarch.

Here are example input report lines

B     1300     5     6

B     1301     10     20

U     1300     7.2     1.23

U   :confused:        1301     6.5     4.56

I would like to see a table view or output

1300     5     6     7.2     1.23

1301     10     20     6.5     4.56

kind regards

Fino

[size="1"][ May 04, 2007, 05:03 AM: Message edited by: fino ][/size]

• Lookup with a table
          Grant Perkins

Originally posted by fino:

I have > 200 reports feeding into one model - all reports have identical layout. One Header field contains 2 different field values either "B" or "U". These values describe currency type of the amount fields. I need to build a file /codeoutput that has both types "B" and "U". I guess what I am asking is to do a lookup in a table on itself - dont think this is possible but I am new to Monarch.

Here are example input report lines

[font="courier"]B     1300     5     6

B     1301     10     20

U     1300     7.2     1.23

U       1301     6.5     4.56[/font][/quote]I would like to see a table view or output

[font="courier"]1300     5     6     7.2     1.23

1301     10     20     6.5     4.56[/font][/quote]kind regards

Fino /b[/quote]Hi fino and welcome to the forum.

Is it safe to assume that the 3rd and 4th columns in you sample also have headers to identify what they are?

If they do that would be useful. If I assume they do for now that would give 4 columns in total: Currency, Reference Group, Value1 and Value2.

Your result needs to be something like: