4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:53 AM by Gareth Horton RSS

Date format limitations

Viv _

In the help file it says 'You can assign date/time type to any field whose values represent valid dates in the range January 01, 1900 - December 31, 2099.'

I work in the property industry and we often need to use dates greater than this. I cannot see any mathematical reason for this limitation and I can only assume that the date chosen is an arbitrary value.

Is this limitation going to be addressed in the future? Any ideas for a work around? I need to return these dates, but, they are evaluated as 'null'.

• Date format limitations
          Grant Perkins

Viv,

I note from the help sections that several other tools (Excel for example) have limitations in the area of dates as well. I assume you have some special software for calculation purposes or output the dates as text strings but I would love to know the real answer.

Other than suggesting going down the "store as text" route and dealing with calculations on a case by case basis, there does not seem to be much that will address the issue, though I note one slightly obscure section of the Help (found with 'date' as the search and referenced as a solo word in the results window) that dates from 1601 to 2400 can be used if a 4 digit year is provided.

Copied below:

"

date

Dates must be in the range 1900 - 2098.  When a date constant is entered in an expression, it must be enclosed in braces, as in HIRE_DATE=.

Years 1601 to 2400 (when year is expressed as YYYY), 1900 to 2098 (when expressed as 2 digits)."

Unfortunately I have not been able to quickly identify the context of the message.

Hope this is of interest.

Grant

Originally posted by Viv:

In the help file it says 'You can assign date/time type to any field whose values represent valid dates in the range January 01, 1900 - December 31, 2099.'