6 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:51 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Date format question for Monarch Pro 7.x

Hank @ Adtran

I have a report that has a date field in the format of mm/yy (06/06 would be this month) and I have tried the different date/time formats and cannot seem to get it to work. The only format that works is the char format and I have to go back in the DB and change to a date/time datatype. I have picked this up from a previous employee and am a total newb in Monarch. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best regards,

Hank

• Date format question for Monarch Pro 7.x
          Grant Perkins

Hank, welcome.

Am I right to assume you need to export the 'date' in the same format (mm/yy ) to a database but that that database needs to understand it as a date and time field?

To be honest I can't see how a system can work out a suitable date/time field entry from just month and year unless some assumptions are being made which modify the value before sending it out.

However I could well be wrong and no doubt one or more of the other forum participants will have some suggestions.

Would be good just to be sure I have correctly understood what the needs are.

Grant

Hank @ Adtran

Originally posted by Grant Perkins:

Hank, welcome.

Am I right to assume you need to export the 'date' in the same format (mm/yy ) to a database but that that database needs to understand it as a date and time field?

To be honest I can't see how a system can work out a suitable date/time field entry from just month and year unless some assumptions are being made which modify the value before sending it out.

However I could well be wrong and no doubt one or more of the other forum participants will have some suggestions.

Would be good just to be sure I have correctly understood what the needs are.

Grant /b[/quote]Hi Grant,